Our school is situated in a beautiful rural location, approximately one mile north of Woolhampton village. We are very proud of our local environment, which is used extensively to enrich and support children’s learning.
The original school building, now mainly used for assemblies, physical education and lunch, is a fine example of an early Victorian school. It was built in 1856 by the Countess of Falmouth to educate the children of the Woolhampton estate and village. A local dignitary, Mr James Blyth, purchased the school and gave it to the church. We are now a Church of England Aided School, maintaining close links with our local clergy and our neighbouring church, St Peters.
In 1974 the four large classrooms in which the children now work, were opened by The Bishop of Reading. In 2004 major building work to enlarge the school hall was completed. Between 2011 and 2016 the main classroom building was completely refurbished. The aim of the refurbishment project was to refurbish all 4 classrooms to create vibrant, spacious and modern teaching and learning environments, incorporating the latest technologies. The school office, head’s office, KS1 and KS2 toilets were also refurbished.
The school recognises the importance of computing and has equipped all classrooms with a high number of computers, with children in Year 6 having their own personal desktop computer.
The school is a founder member of the Douai Field Association, giving us access to the Douai playing fields and tennis courts at the rear of the school. We have good links with our neighbouring private school, Elstree, and use a number of their superb facilities, including the purpose built sports hall and swimming pool.
Village historian, John Trigg, has written an informative short book about the history of the school, from its foundation in the 1840’s to the 1950’s. Many thanks to John for allowing us to make this booklet freely available to parents.